For those who don’t know, gluten intolerance is the result of what’s known as Celiac’s, which is an autoimmune disease where gluten consumption causes damage to the individual’s small intestine. Therefore, If a person suffers from Celiac’s and eats foods with gluten such as wheat, rye and barley, his or her immune system backfires like it does in all the autoimmune diseases and their body damages itself. In the case of Celiac’s, the body responds by damaging the small intestine.

Pure oats are a grain, but are gluten-free in their primal state and safe for most people with gluten intolerance. However, oats are often contaminated with gluten because they’re frequently processed in the same facilities as gluten-containing grains like wheat, rye, and barley. Even oat seeds (kernels) can be contaminated at the time of planting if the farmer stores them in the same unit that holds or once held wheat, barley and rye. As such, an organic farmer will be used to plant tested and certified gluten-free oats and grow them in a field that’s totally separate from other grains.

There are a few wonderful, caring and health-conscious manufacturers who only use oats from pristine fields where no other grains are grown, then process them in a separate facility. One such company whose products are both strictly kosher and superb is Arrowhead Mills in Texas, who produce a gluten-free organic oat flour that’s available on Amazon. If your flour content in your bread or challas is at least 51% oat flour (the rest can be rice, millet, sorghum or some other non-grain flour), then you may say Birkat Hamazon (Grace after a meal where one eats bread) too and stay healthy!

Pin It on Pinterest